Aviation Safety Poster Competition


Aviation Safety Poster Competition cum Seminar on ‘Challenges of Emerging Technology in Aviation’

Mumbai, 04th March 2017:
The Aeronautical Society of India, Mumbai Branch and Thakur Institute of Aviation Technology (TIAT), Mumbai conducted the “Aviation Safety Poster Competition” cum Seminar on Saturday 4 March 2017 at Thakur Complex, Kandivali( East), Mumbai 400101. Dr.R.K.Thyagi, President Elect of The Aeronautical Society of India and Former Chairman & Managing Director-HAL & Pawan Hans India was the Chief Guest. The event began at 0930 with a visit to the halls where safety posters Category 1 and Category 2 were displayed by all participants and the panel of judges.

Category 1 was Aviation organization for which entries were received from 12 organizations and they are Air Asia, Air India, Air India Express, BPCL, DGCAWestern region- Air safety, Goair, Indigo, IOC, Jet Airways, L & T Aviation, Spice Jet, Vistara. A total of 23 posters received and the panel of judges declared DGCA-Western Region as Winners and Air India as Runners. Category 2 was for Aviation training Institutes for which entries were received from Air works India, Bombay Flying Club, HAL-PRAVARA Aviation Institute, Nasik, Pawan Hans, Thakur Institute of Aviation Technology (TIAT) and a total of 18 posters were on display. The panel of judges declared HAL-Parvara Institute, Nasik as Winners and TIAT as Runners.

The inaugural session commenced at 1015 with a welcome address by Mr. P.S.Ganapathy, Chairman of the Aeronautical Society of India, Mumbai branch. Dr.S.M. Ganchari, Principal, Thakur Polyclinic in his address briefed the audience about the college courses and its activities. In his key note address the Chief Guest Dr.R.K.Tyagi stated that this type of event brings in significant awareness on the safety aspects of the industry. More importantly he stressed the challenges of the Indian Aviation industry which is rapidly expanding to reach the number one position globally in the next 10 years. He also particularly mentioned about the new aviation policy which will bring in faster development in the area of infrastructure and skilled manpower. Therefore there are huge opportunities and potentials for the young student generation to take up challenging assignments.

Subsequent to the Chief Guest address an Aviation Play was enacted by TIAT students and it received an overwhelming applause from the audience. The inaugural session concluded with chief guest distributing the prizes to the winners/ runners of the safety poster competition. The technical session on “Challenges of Emerging technology in Aviation” commenced at 1130 hours.
Mr. Babu Peter Executive vice President of GoAir made a presentation on “Growth in aviation and cost effective Indian MRO-a perfect match for Make in India program. He gave a brief account of the domestic and international traffic of the Indian carriers and their fleet expansion. He particularly mentioned the challenges faced by Indian MROs and the certain provisions of the new aviation policy of the Government of India which may provide stimulus for the MRO. But it needs further acceleration and concrete steps to attract the MRO business in India and make it very competitive.

The second lecture was on Aviation Fuel –Refining to Refueling by Mr. Sanjay Sahay, General Manager Aviation, Indian Oil Corporation and he elaborated the measures in transporting the fuel and precautions / checks undertaken to ensure the quality for safe operation.
The final lecture of the technical session was on Airlines Safety and Emergency Responses by Mrs. Harpreet A.De.Singh Executive Director, Chief of Flight Safety & Head of corporate safety & environment management system. She brought out the salient difference between Safety and emergency response .In order to emphasize the importance of strictly following the Standard Operating Procedures documented in the Emergency response manual. A case study example was explained in details.

This occasion was also used to present IWPA awards to women student achievers of TIAT. All the 10 students received their certificate of honor from Mrs. Harpreet singh , President of IWPA. The function ended with vote of thanks by Mr. Subhajit Maity, the Accountable
Manager TIAT at 1345 hours. A total of 200 personnel from the industry and students fraternity participated in this event.